Earnestness of ‘Durood’

“Allah and His Angels send blessings on the Prophet: O you who have believed! Send your blessings on him and salute him with all respect.” [Al-ahzaab 33:56]

The above mentioned verse of the Holy Qur’an emphasises the significance of Darood which is unbounded. It is an invocation which Muslims make to compliment Prophet Muhammed, the most beloved creation of Allah SWT. The rewards attached in recitation of darood are manifold.

Two Arabic words ‘Salat’ (blessings) and ‘Salaam’ (Salutation) are jointly termed as Darood in Persian language.

Besides, the aforementioned verse of Surat Al-ahzaab, there are many authentic ahadith which stress on the importance of Darood. Here in this blog, I wish to enlighten my readers on significance of Darood in the light of authentic traditions of our Prophet.

Abdullah bin Amr bin Al-’As reported that he heard the Prophet PBUH saying, “If anyone invokes blessings upon me once, Allah will bestow blessings upon him ten times over.”[Muslim]

Ibn Mas’ud reported that the Prophet PBUH said, “The people nearest to me on the Day of Judgment will be the ones most conscientious in invoking blessings upon me.” [Tirmidhi]

It is not necessary for a person to invoke darood only when he visits the city of Madinah. Darood is a part of zikr (remembrance) that can be done anywhere and everywhere. Abu Hurairah reported that the Prophet PBUH said, “Do not turn my grave into a site of festivities, but send greetings to me for your greetings are raised to me wherever you might be.” [Abu Daw’ud]

Of all the days of a week, Friday is considered as a blessed, auspicious and a prominent day for Muslims. Hence the day calls for more recitation of darood. Aus reported that the Prophet PBUH said, “The best of your days is Friday, so send more and more greetings to me on it, for your greetings are presented to me.” They asked, “How are our greetings presented to you while you are dead and your body is turned into dust?” He PBUH replied,“Allah has forbidden the earth to consume the bodies of the prophets.” [Abu Daw’ud and Nasa’i]

Abu Hurairah reported that the Prophet PBUH said, “When any Muslim sends greetings to me, Allah returns my soul to me so that I may respond to his greetings.” [Abu Daw’ud]

Abu Talha Al Ansari said, “The Prophet PBUH woke up one day cheerful and beaming.  His companions exclaimed, ‘O Prophet of Allah, you woke up today cheerful and beaming.’ He PBUH replied, ‘Yes! A messenger (Angel) of Allah, the Mighty and the Glorified, came to me and said, “If anyone from your Ummah sends you a salutation, Allah will record for him ten good deeds, wipe off ten of his sins, and raise him thereby ten degrees in rank, and He will return his salutation with a similar salutation.” [Ahmad]

With the Qur’anic verse of Surat Al-ahzaab and the ahadith, one can easily comprehend the importance of Darood as a form of Zikr (remembrance). We all need to engage ourselves in reciting Darood in our day-to-day life. This is the least we can do to compliment our Prophet who was desperate to lead his Ummah to Jannah.

2 thoughts on “Earnestness of ‘Durood’

  1. I fully endorse the facts about significance of Darood Sharif as mentioned in his blog by brother Shoaib Shaikh.I would only add one sentence by saying that recitation of Darood-e-Pak is placed at the highest level of zikr because Allah (SWT) and Angels are busy in this Zikr long before any human being as mentioned in Surah AlAhzab.I have a personal experience in my life that I have came out of unexplained difficult situation by reciting Darood Sharif.

  2. Jazakallh al Khair for the sending the mails on Islam. Can you please enlighten more on the following hadees since people enter into arguments as really the Prophet will respond our greetings.

    Abu Hurairah reported that the Prophet PBUH said, “When any Muslim sends greetings to me, Allah returns my soul to me so that I may respond to his greetings.” [Abu Daw’ud]
    May Allah reward for this.

    Arif

Leave a Reply

